St. Francis invented Live Nativity Scenes

meme-advent-living-nativity

I love Living Nativity Scenes. This Advent, my goal is to try see 4 or 5 of them, inviting friends and family along with me. One of the most extraordinary descriptions in the first biography of St. Francis (written just a few years after his death) is about the Living Nativity which he pulled together. More precisely, he delegated it, like a smart leader, and had a lay man, John, pull together the townspeople of Greccio, plus an ox plus an ass. I try to imagine how spectacular this scene was for folks who loved a good tableau and the occasional entertainers who came to town. I wonder what it was like for John to talk people into letting him borrow their ox for the night. “No, really, we just want to put it on display next to the so-and-so family who has already agreed to depict Jesus, Mary and Joseph for the evening.”

I love when churches put a lot of effort in to these Living Nativity Scenes, sometimes called Live Nativities or other words. Some churches put on a drive-through experience or a walk-through experience. Yes, I will concede that in most cases, a medieval historian was not consulted to get the costumes just right and, in many cases, peoples’ own bathrobes account for most of the costumes, but the sentiment is right and before I criticize other people, I have to remember that THEY are the ones doing it while I did not lift a finger to help.

I hope that you will take some time to find a living nativity in your town. A lot of northerners have told me they’ve never heard of such a thing-poor lambs. I know that in the south here, we have plenty to choose from . Many of them are just a few nights and most of them close shop way before Christmas, so start looking now. Francis and John put together the first Living Nativity Scene because they wanted the scene to come to life for people and for the reality of the incarnation to be more tangible for people who got to go there, huddling against the cold, singing and enjoying the candlelit scene. I hope you jump in the car with some in-laws to check one out near you. It is what St. Francis would do.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share your thoughts. Leave a Reply.

